Sign up for our free weekday bulletin.

Winners announced for the Bluewater Anglers salmon derby

Published on

The official winners of the 42nd annual Bluewater Anglers Salmon Derby have been announced.

More than 1,000 anglers from southwestern Ontario took part in the 10-day event, which ended May 6.

The weather and fish were both co-operative to make this year’s derby a success. A total of 1,608 fish were entered, the third highest number of the past 12 years.

The official winners are:

* Rick Scott, St. Marys, Salmon category, 14.12 lb.

* Justin Tadgell, Grand Bend, Lake Trout category, 26.64 lb.

* Craig Beaubien, Sarnia, Trout – Boat category, 12.42 lb. rainbow

* Nick Vallee, Bright’s Grove, Trout – Shore category, 9.69 lb. rainbow

* Ryan Smith, Wyoming, Walleye category, 9.60 lb.

* Elijah Brown, Petrolia, Kids Biggest Fish, 15.74 lb. lake trout.

* Nicole McCullough, Strathroy, Ladies Day Winner, 10.05 lb. lake trout.

* Ray Core, Sarnia, Seniors Day Winner, 12.60 lb. lake trout.

The prizes were scheduled to be presented May 16 at an awards night at the Point Edward Community Centre, beginning at 7:30 p.m.


More like this