Sign up for our free weekday bulletin.

Sarnians shine in 60th annual Robinson Tennis Tourney

Published on

Sarnia was well represented at the 60th annual Francis J. Robinson Memorial tennis tournament in Port Huron, providing 23 of the 310 participants.

Five players won their events, seven reached the finals and ten made it to semifinals at the Aug. 1-6 tournament.

Tej Patel was one of only two players to capture the Robinson ‘Triple Crown,’ winning the 10s Boys’ singles, doubles and mixed doubles.

Ryan Davies and Aditya Damani combined to win the 14s Boys’ Tournament doubles, with Davies adding the 14s Mixed doubles title. Damani was also finalist in the 14s Boys’ Tournament singles.

Andrew Davies won the 18s Boys’ doubles, and was a finalist in the 18s Mixed doubles.

The Davies brothers were also semi finalists in their respective singles events (14s Boys’ Tournament and 18s Boys’).

Veteran Tino DiBatistta, won the 60s Men’s doubles with a partner from Port Huron, and was finalist in the 6os Men’s singles.

Other local finalists were: Chinmay Damani (10s Boys’ singles and doubles), Divyesh Bhargava (14s Boys’ Club singles, Chris Latosinsky (14s Boys’ Tournament doubles and mixed doubles) and Ashley Gregoris (Women’s Open Doubles).

Other local semi finalists in the tournament were: Chinmay Damani (10s Mixed doubles), Bhargava (14s Boys’ Club Doubles), Anna Esztegar (14s Girls’ Tournament doubles), Mihnea Balan (14s Boys’ Tournament singles), Divija Bhargava (18s Girls’ Doubles), Dave Giffin (30s Men’s singles), Justin Bourassa (Open Singles) and Monika Polakovic (Women’s Open singles).

The “Robinson” is one of the longest running community tennis tournaments in the United States, with divisions ranging from 10 & under to 60 & over. It is the highlight of the local area summer tennis calendar.



More like this