Sign up for our free weekday bulletin.

Election results from around Lambton County

Published on

Journal staff

Across the county, some new faces were elected Monday, while others stayed the same. Here’s a roundup of unofficial results in Lambton:

Warwick Township

One-term mayor Jackie Rombouts, who made headlines earlier this year during the ‘Freedom Convoy’ protests and highway 402 blockade, lost her seat to Todd Case, who served as Warwick mayor for 18 years and three-time Lambton County Warden, before stepping aside in 2018. Unofficial results showed Case earned 907 votes while Rombouts earned 494. The four candidates elected to council were: John Couwenberg, Joe Manning, Wayne Morris and Jerry Westgate.


Gary Atkinson earned 1,458 votes to take the top job, after longtime mayor Lonny Napper announced he would not be seeking re-election. Mayoral candidates Tim Wilkins and Muriel Wright earned 1,215 and 376 votes, respectively, while deputy mayor Netty McEwen was acclaimed. The five councillor seats went to: Mike Vasey, John Van Klaveren, Kristen Rodrigues, Bob Woolvet and Alex Boughen.

Enniskillen Township

In Enniskillen Township, the entire council, including incumbent mayor and Lambton Warden Kevin Marriott — who has gone unchallenged since 2014 — were acclaimed. Incumbents Mary Lynne McCallum, Wally Van Dun, Judy Krall, Chad Burke will all keep their council seats. Voters still cast their ballots for School Board trustee positions.

Oil Springs

In Oil Springs, the entire council, including incumbent Mayor Ian Veen went unchallenged and were acclaimed. Returning councillors Larry Wagner, Connie McFadden and Adam Veen keep their seats, along with newcomer Jordan Newport. Voters still cast their ballots for School Board trustee positions.


Incumbent Mayor Brad Loosely earned 1,264 votes, over his opponent Richard Poore (759 votes), while council seats went to Liz Welsh, Joel Field, Chad Hyatt, Ross O’Hara, Debra Pitel and Bill Clark.


Incumbent Mayor David Ferguson (654) earned just 130 more votes than his opponent Coun. Jamie Armstrong (524) according to the municipality’s unofficial results, which also named Frank Nemcek, Don McCabe, Jenny Redick and Craig Sanders to the four council seats.

Lambton Shores:

Former deputy mayor Doug Cook took the top job, earning 2,922 votes over Marilyn Smith’s 1,776 votes, while Dan Sageman earned 2,343 votes for the deputy mayor position, over Terri Lynn Legault (1,464) and Barry Balcom (812). The municipality’s 7 other council seats went to: Glen Baillie (Ward 1), Dave Maguire (Ward 2), Lorie Scott (Ward 3), Ronn Dogde (Ward 4 – acclaimed), Scott Ferguson (Ward 5), Dave Marsh (Ward 6 – acclaimed), Jeff Wilcox (Ward 7).

Point Edward: 

Acclaimed Pt. Edward Mayor Bev Hand confirmed incumbent Greg Grimes topped the polls with 585 votes. He’ll sit on the new council with incumbents Paul Burgess (531 votes) Tim Mondoux (468 votes) & newcomer Lauren Drury (377 votes). Voter turnout was about 42%.

Dawn Euphemia

Mayor Alan Broad was acclaimed along with councillors Ann Gray, Paul Leboeuf, Mark McGuire and Jason Meyer.

More like this